More awake

Ok… so I am more awake now.

The day started off really early. I had to arrive at the hospital at 5:30, even though I only like 6 miles from the hospital  I still had to leave about 5AM. I was scared, because last time when they changed the time, there was no interpreter, but this time she was there!!!

 

mommy and me waiting

mommy and me waiting

I got started, and pre-surgery was normal. I had two AMAZING nurses to start with, Shelby and Margaux. They helped keep me calm, and I only freaked out once… when they said only two people could be in the preop room with me, and that INCLUDED the interpreter. I still don’t think that was fare… the interpreter wasn’t there to visit with me, she was there to facilitate communication… she was employed by the hospital… so how can she really count as one of my two. Well the charge nurse wasn’t going to budge on it…

Well… we finished all the pre-op stuff, I met my sleep doctor (who was a much better one than I had last time). I talked to her about my concerns with the last sleep doctor, how he had popped my jaw out, and that took a long time to get back to normal. she explained how she was going to try not to, and use an endoscope to put my tube in, and that helped so very much… very little pain in the throat and very little pain in the jaw. Then I told my sleep doctor how I slept much too long last time, and how it was very hard to wake up… so this time, she gave me less anestesia, just enough to keep me under.

comparing two recovery. One was July... and I slept for about 2 hours, maybe longer, the 2nd... less than 1/2 hour!

comparing two recovery. One was July… and I slept for about 2 hours, maybe longer, the 2nd… less than 1/2 hour!

I woke up in the recovery room, they brought me out of surgery to my nurse at 9:10, I was starting to wake up by 9:15! The OR nurses were trying to put my CI on my head like I had asked… but they were failing a bit. I had to have them give it to me, as I lay sleeping there, and put it on myself… and they put it under the bandage… that wasn’t so comfortable. I ended up switching that later. I remember getting my X-Rays taken (not so fun)… throwing up because they laid me down too quickly, saying I needed to go to the bathroom, and trying to use the bed pan… but it doesn’t work, and getting a half cup of ice, and being thrilled about the ice. then I went back to sleep for a little bit… I woke up randomly… but was actually awake awake by 9:35. We needed to get my pain management under control first though… and I REALLY needed to pee. So I walked to the bathroom, went pee, and was given some apple juice. By the time i was ready to be moved, my pain was under control and i was fully awake, I had to go to the bathroom again. I was able to walk on my own, and not have to worry about falling (down or asleep). I went into the “phase 2 recovery” room where I could see my family, and I had a glass of water (which I was almost 1/2 done with), and was asking for jello. I caused myself an issue… I drank much too much in much too short of a time span. Causing me to vomit. My nurse for this room, Craig… not very nice. He NEVER asked me how my pain was, all he did was start discharge paperwork, he never checked to see if I was doing ok, if I needed anything… when I needed to have pain meds, my MOM had to find him, When I told my mom I wanted some I was in-between a pain of a 4 and 5 on the pain scale and I wanted to be sure it didn’t get worse. By the time my mom was able to even FIND HIM, I was at a 6 or 6.5… by the time he got me my pain meds (at least 15 minutes later) I was at solid 8… I was almost ready to cry… and when he came back 20 minutes later, he didn’t even ask how I was feeling…

Well… now I’m home… and feeling much better. taking half a pain pill every couple hours… hoping that stays on top of my pain. I’ve added a little slide show. but I think it may be attempt at bed time now… hope that I sleep longer than a few hours at a time… I slept on my amazing SO’s lap this afternoon with my wonderful neck pillow… but got scared when she moved. Update more later.

Charlie's felt Ci's

Charlie’s felt Ci’s

Charlies

at home with Charlie, I made his CI's since I don't have Kaci

at home with Charlie, I made his CI’s since I don’t have Kaci

smiling at home, ready for bed

smiling at home, ready for bed

 

 

2 thoughts on “More awake

  1. Your decision to go through this surgery TWICE has given me the courage to go through it ONCE. I just wanted to thank you for the detailed blog. As my own surgery date gets closer and closer, I appreciated reading about your experience!

    • No problem. I’ve decided I will blog the good, the bad and the ugly. For me it is very much worth it, will it ever change my love and use of ASL? No, but will it help me in my job currently, jobs in the future and communication with my family? Yes.

Leave a Reply

