10 Things You Should Never Say to a Deaf Person

This is very true. Please don’t say these things to us Deaf people. Yes I have a CI (hitting on number 8 here) but it will not “fix” my hearing, I do not need something to “fix” my hearing because I am not broken. do I have access to sound with it yes, but it will not “fix” me I am fine how I am. I have gotten these and many more. Speaking of my CI, I will post later about activation.

Becoming Deaf

We all occasionally say things we really wish we hadn’t, especially when meeting new people.  For some reason, meeting a deaf person seems to really bring out those moments in people.  In the hopes of  helping you avoid these embarrassing moments, I’m sharing 10 things you should never say when meeting a deaf person.  All of which, in case you’re wondering, have been said to me. And my friends. More than once.

1 – Oh, I’m sorry. (And then walking away.)

Deaf people are really not that scary. When someone tells you they can’t hear you, try making sure you’re looking directly at the person when you talk to them.  Speak clearly, but don’t exaggerate your lip movements.  Or, hey, get a piece of paper or use your phone to write down what you’re saying.

2 – How do you drive? 

I use my eyes. How do YOU drive??  I’m…

View original post 912 more words

2 thoughts on “10 Things You Should Never Say to a Deaf Person

  1. Thanks for reblogging 🙂

  2. I’d like to add, “Oh, my dog is deaf, just like you!” to this list please. As well as, “Why can’t you just speak ENGLISH?” -___- I don’t know if the stereotype about red heads being more hot tempered is true but whenever someone says these things to me, we will find out very, very quickly.

Leave a Reply

