In one week

In one week I will be at the hospital, waiting for surgery. Getting an IV in my arm… and taking out my right hearing aid for the last time. It is a weird feeling, knowing that soon, there will be nothing in my right ear, and that I will be able to hear (something) from that ear, even when nothing is inside of it.

In one week, I will be put under anestesia,

In one week they will shave part of my head and cut my right ear open…

 one week from today,  I will have the Nucleus CI24RE Cochelar Implant being put into my head… and in less than 3 weeks, I will be turned on with the N5.

But for today, I am going to my friends wedding, I am seeing her get married, and we are celebrating the 4th of July. I am so lucky to have friends who understand my communication preferences… who provide an interpreter for the 2 Deaf people who will be there… I love my friends!!! I need to get dressed and ready to go!

Leave a Reply

