Vertigo and I

Its a dance… this life of dizzy then not… then dizzy again. The vertigo dance I have played for almost a year… seems it may (hopefully) be coming to an end! When this whole thing started… I had more hellish bad days than good… more days where for hours on end I was spinning out of control… where my mind could not focus… where I couldn’t think, let alone speak or lipread… I was lucky to be able to stand.

But lately… I have noticed, appart from the odd day… the odd attack, life seems to be getting back to normal… as normal as it can for me. And I must say that is something I am really looking forward to, the end of the dance.

I haven’t quite noticed a pattern, but then again… there has never really been a method to my madness when vertigo is involved… but I keep searching for one.
When I was younger, my madness really involved me passing out and sometimes breaking things, like my tooth, splitting my chin or my eyebrow (once both), breaking of the toes… that sort of thing. Then it stopped for a while, having only a few issues here or there… but mostly being ok. That was my life for 2 years, maybe 3… then the vertigo set in… and fast. One day, I was perfectly fine, then after a single steroid pill (I had an inflamed neck) the vertigo became my constant companion… until now. I am pleased to say… that I have only had one horrible feeling as though I was Dorothy in the wizard of oz, with everything spinning around me inside of a tornado…

That was Saturday… thankfully (sort of) right as work was ending. Meaning I didn’t have to deal with people and feel as if I was going to hurrel my stomach contents on my clients because I was trying to understand what someone was saying… I had a minor attack Monday night when I went grocery shopping, but I was still able to stand and function, walk and think… and to an extent lipread (though that is never really comfortable).
But this to me is a major improvement… the only two days with any vertigo symptoms in a week… a major change from where a day without my dear enemy dizzy was a blue moon. This change I will take and embrase… maybe if I embrase it… it will stick.
What has helped so much? I think it may be the frustruating but helpful balance therapy I have been doing on a weekly basis for the past few months. While it pushes me to the breaking point, it does seem to be helping… as noted in my transformation of days… hopefully *crosses fingers* this means I can be done soon!

I would love to take a weekly appointment out of the mix, expecially since I am going to be adding routine audiological visits and surgery healing time to the pot. Speaking of surgery, I got approval for my CT scan! My insurance company called me and left me a video message with a bunch of information, asking me to call them back. This message was, as I described it to a friend… “holy information batman” message. A rapid fire 59 second video message… that I am sure my google voice would not have had any hope of transcribing… but the interpreter did a wonderful job for me! I will post the message after I have a chance to edit the identifying and personal information out of it… maybe tomorrow… I should also know soon when the actual time of my ct scan is, I know it will should be next Wednesday… but I’m not sure on the actual time yet. And the lady from the CI clinic needs to check with the surgeons assistant to see when I can see him. I was asked for medical records… but except for the occasional ear infection… ok more than occasional… and the vertigo that seems to be disapearing… I am fairly healthy… doctors appointments have gone like this… go in, oh you have an ear infection… ok… here are antibiotics. Your blood pressure is wonderful, a bit overwight… but ok… see you next infection. Is that something the surgeon would really need to see? Who knows, I will have my new and my old primary care physician send over records… so they can see anyways.
That is it for my ramblings tonight… I will update on my new VP from sorenson tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Vertigo and I

  1. Hope everything works out for you.

  2. thanks!!! I got discharged today!!! told I shouldn’t have to go see them anytime soon!!!! Long time coming, but its here!!!

Leave a Reply

