Surgery… Again

Sorry this is so late, but Its been a crazy month.

I had left revision surgery on Nov 14, 2013. Surgery was scheduled for 11 AM, and I had to be at the hospital at 9AM. This surgery was with a different doctor, and there were some very noticeable differences, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

I arrived at the hospital at 9AM, when I arrived, there were two interpreters there for me, one was sent home as there was no need for two. Both interpreters were very nice, the one who stayed was about 6 months Pregnant. Inserting my IV was much easier, and even though they put it on my hand, it was much better than any of the surgeries I have had in the past. They asked me questions about sleep apnea this time, and oddly, measured my head for research they are doing.

The time leading up to the surgery was very easy, and relaxed. I had very few questions for my surgeon, because I’ve been through this before. They wheeled me back, and I fell asleep instantly (a talent of mine, even without the sleep medicine). The next thing I remember was not being able to breath, signing” I can’t breathe, I can’t breathe” and being very upset by it. No one could understand me, so I started yelling “I can’t breathe, I can’t breathe” they held my hands down, and I kept screaming, fighting them the whole time. My surgeon called this… “Waking up like a tiger” and looking back logic tells me I could breathe because I was yelling, but logic + waking up from surgery do not equal reality. I also remember being very thirsty, and them not allowing me anything to drink, because I had already vomited a few times. Finally I was given ice chips, and… vomited again. At this point, it wasn’t worth it, and I went back to sleep. I was in so much pain, they gave me as much pain medication as possible, and it didn’t even make a dent. They ended up giving me morphine, which made me so cold.

KaciMy mom eventually informed me that if they couldn’t get my pain under control, they were going to have to keep me overnight… this was something I was 100% against, so even though I was in so much pain, I lied… I told the my pain was a 3 on a scale of 1-10… when really it was at least 2x that. They let me go home, and I was given 3 medications. 1. antibiotic, 2.  Pain medication, 3. Anti-nausea medication (my least favorite, but helpful… it was a suppository, so not fun to use). My head was also wrapped up, and I was given Kaci the Koala!!!

Right After Surgery

Right After Surgery

I went home and slept, watched TV shows on Netflix, and slept more. Both my mom and my love were there to help me after surgery, which was so wonderful. 2 days later, Nov 16th, was my 25th birthday. We went to my loves aunts house for “Fake Thanksgiving” and played cards. It was fun, exhausting, but fun. Her aunt made me a rice crispy treat cake (I can’t eat gluten) and it was wonderful and so very sweet.

I was able to take my bandage off the morning of my birthday, and that was a huge relief. They didn’t shave much hair compared with my other surgeon, and there were also no stitches, but it was glued and steristripped together. When the bandage came off, I felt much better… but was a little sad I couldn’t see the progress of my head healing. I was also very swollen, my head was a little oddly shaped for a few days.

no bandage

I had thought about going back to work on Monday… but that plan didn’t pan out. I went back Tuesday, and was a little wobbly (This time I was a little dizzy after surgery… but I did expect this, even though my other surgeries I have not been dizzy).  The sterristripps kept trying to come off, so I had to get some extra to try to reinforce it. Everyone at work was wonderful about everything, and while I was gone, they knew not to expect as much as had been the standard of service.

I was happy I was able to shower on my own this surgery, because of the sterristrips and the glue instead of stitches, which made me feel much better. I had post op on Nov 25th, as well as activation. My surgeon removed the sterri strips and this is what he found! He said it looked perfect. Such a smaller incision than last time. Next up… activation.Tape Gone

One thought on “Surgery… Again

  1. Pingback: Adventures of a Deaf Adult | How the time passes, a new year

Leave a Reply

