Activation… Hopefully for the last time

After seeing my surgeon for my post op, I went in for my activation. Both of my appointments were at Arizona Hearing and Balance.  I was given two new processors, and one was to be for my left (new) ear, and one was to be for my right (old) ear. These processors were Cochlear ™ N6 processors, my old processors were Cochlear ™ N5 Processors. I will explain the processors in a different post, with my review.

This activation was a little different, having already been through it, I knew what was going to be happening, and I was expecting it to actually, be worse than it was. My brain should be able to understand things better, having already had a CI, and this being a revision.

It started off the same, hooking the new processor up to my head, realizing I need a stronger magnet, and it falling off again and again.

I listened to the beep, and they were beeps not static (to see why this is exciting, click here)!!  I counted like a normal mapping, then… she turned it on.  And while it wasn’t static, it wasn’t great. It wasn’t bad… but it wasn’t exactly how I had hoped for things to go. It sounded very… robotic again… but… sound was there, and it wasn’t static, so that was a step in the right direction.

There was also a student at the activation, although she didn’t actually touch my mapping, she was just observing, and I expect was just starting her practicum, or whatever it is called for Audiology Students. She was amazed that while tests were being run on my CI, my audiologist and I were able to have a full conversation in ASL, and said she was interested in learning too.

I was given four programs for the left side, as I had expected, each with increasing volume, and was scheduled for the next several weeks for follow up mappings.

The intern walked me through pairing my remotes with my processors (Mostly the same as how I had with the N5’s) as well as some of the new features on the N6. While not everything is FDA approved for the N6, there are new features.  Again, this will be in another post.

IMG_20131203_085637_944

The rest of Monday included an eye appointment and getting contacts for the first time and a dentist appointment… and that… It might need its own post too…

2 thoughts on “Activation… Hopefully for the last time

  1. Pingback: Adventures of a Deaf Adult | How the time passes, a new year

Leave a Reply

